Montreal Canadiens

The Montreal Canadiens are a professional ice hockey team, based in Montreal, Quebec. The Montreal Canadians are members of the Northeast Division of the Eastern Conference. The Montreal Canadiens are officially known as le Club de hockey Canadien. The Montreal Canadiens are the longest continuously operating ice hockey team in the NHL; they were founded in 1909 and actually predate the NHL’s founding. With the departure of the Quebec Nordiques in 1995, the Montreal Canadiens are the only NHL team in Quebec. The Montreal Canadiens have won 26 Stanley Cups, more than any other team, making them one of the most successful sports teams in all of the US and Canada.