Carolina Hurricanes

The Carolina Hurricanes are a professional ice hockey team based in Raleigh, North Carolina. They compete in the Southeast Division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The team were founded in 1972 and wrer originally known as the New England Whalers, before changing to the Hertford Whales then later, the Carolina Hurricanes in 1997. Winners of 2 conference championships, the Carolina Hurricanes have also racked up 3 division championships. Owner Peter Karmanos has brought in a strong team of players including Rod Brind'Amour, who has captained the Carolina Hurricanes since 1995. The Carolina Hurricanes play home games at the RBC Center.